Money and Spending: Minimalism

From a young age, my mom has taught me a lot about money and spending. Not just by telling, but by showing me in different ways how to be frugal. From showing me how to find the best deal and waiting until something goes on sale to purchase it or using what we already have to save money.

I’m grateful to be humbled from such a young age. In turn, I’ve been able to use my resources and not be so materialistic.

I had the luxury of being able to go to private schools. My parents wanted nothing more than to give me the best schooling experience they could. I know how much they wanted school to be a good experience. But, school anywhere is tough.

I remember when my mother surprised me with a Vera Bradly lunchbox and I felt oh-so-cool. It was soft, beautifully patterned, and lasted me years. Being surrounded by walking-talking advertisements made me realize a lot about people. The more you’re given from a young age, the less grateful people seem. And you take these things for granted. But what good are things?

Of course we needs things to live and survive and it’s not a crime to own a lot either. You should in no way deprive yourself of things that benefit you or your health. But there comes a balance. To treat yourself once in a while is a wonderful thing and I believe it’s part of self care. But if your wallet is feeling a bit under the weather due to too much unnecessary spending, there may be a problem.

Why do I want this?

I ask myself this when something catches my eye.

  • Is it because it’s cheap?

I’ve learned the hard way that cheap isn’t always good. Not to say you should be overstocking on expensive products either.

I try to go through an analysis checklist:

  • Price
  • Condition
  • Functionality (how would this benefit me?)
  • Quantity (do I have this already or something similar/how many?)

I tend to do this when I’m thrifting. I try to stay away from fast fashion/mass production companies. Although they may be cheap, the quality isn’t always the best and it may end up breaking/wearing faster than you think. So if you keep purchasing a bunch of cheap items over time, you could spend just as much or more instead of purchasing one of higher quality that will last much longer. I learned this the hard way.

You may be surprised what you can find in a second hand shop, it just may take some treasure hunting.

Should I wait?

I try to ask myself if I absolutely need it right now.

  • Do I need it now? Why?
  • Can it wait?
  • Can I get a better price somewhere else?

What I’ve found helpful is taking a picture of the object and the brand. If its not something I need right now but would like, I have the picture so I can think about it and purchase it later, if i decide to.

Could I make this or recreate this?

Maybe this doesn’t apply to some, but I personally love creating and crafting. I love to get ideas from pinterest or even things I see in stores. Especially if i see something I like but it’s cheaply made, I can remake it and add a little pah-zazz.

Buying In Bulk?

Absolutely, buying in bulk can save a lot of money. But If you’re just doing it just because there’s a deal, there’s a possibility that you could end up losing money in wasted food, if its unused or forgotten. But if it’s something you will use, by all means purchase!! Bulk shopping for the win!

I’ve made many many (and somehow keep making) mistakes but I feel as if I have gotten a lot more responsible over the years.

Does it make you happy?

Like I had said above, you shouldn’t deprive yourself, especially if it’s things that make you happy. Sometimes it is the little things in life that are able to bring us some Serotonin.

For me, owning less things has reduced the mindset of the “I see it, I want it” attitude. I’m able to appreciate things without owning them. I have friends that tell me “You should get _____!” quite frequently or they’ll make a comment about how “empty” my room is. (I personally don’t find it that empty). As nice some things can be, I just don’t have the urge to have every “next best thing.” I like what I like, and they like what they like. And that’s absolutely okay. If it makes you happy, then go for it, my friend. Make it worth it.

Leave a comment